Eclipsed

eclipse
Eclipsed
glasses
I’d spent a whole bunch of money on special, fancy, solar camera filters to shoot the eclipse from the beach yesterday. I hauled my heavy gear and set up camp early to capture the big show.
big-poppa
Then I noticed a great cacophony down in the new-moon induced, ultra-low tide pools. It was the kind of ultra-low when the lifeguards haul their huge chairs out onto the sandbar, and plant them right on the place you were just bodysurfing yesterday.

 

sand-eel
Sand Eels. Hundreds of gulls had gathered to pick off sand eels in the shallow pools. This gull kept hovering over me. It wasn’t until I got home and saw this pic when I realized there was a sand eel slithering all around me.
lor-commander
The Lord Commander, Big Poppa. Big Poppa was absolutely owning the pools.
big-poppa-sees
I’d been sitting with Big Poppa for a while when he suddenly became very alert.
big-poppa-worry
And I realized the light had changed dramatically.
buk-buk
So we went to drink from the buk buk and have a few laughs. Suddenly Big Poppa whipped his head around, and I saw it too….
cow-nose-surfing
It was a cow nose ray, bodysurfing.
solo-cow-nose
He was hauling out on the rip, and catching the micro toobz back to shore, over, and over again.
cow-nose-wave.jpg
Then came more.
rays
And more.
so-many-rays
I’d say in the tens of thousands.

Soon I remembered the purpose of my visit, so I returned to camp to get ready for the big event. But it had ended like an hour ago.

Oh well. I guess you don’t really need once-in-a-lifetime celestial events at the beach anyway. There is always something magically wild going on, eclipsing everything else.