T2 Executes Perfect Photobomb

I noticed T2 The Oystercatcher's mate, Linda Hamilton, acting a little funny at sunrise.
I noticed T2 The Oystercatcher’s mate, Linda Hamilton, acting a little funny, and looking a little… round..  at sunrise.
Ooooo. I think I see the problem. Egg Butt. Egg Butt is a term I learned from my hero, the incomparable Allison Anholt. It describes the condition where an egg is so close to popping out, you can see the bulge. Lucky Allison once saw Tacey with Egg Butt.
Ooooo. I think I see the problem. Egg Butt. Egg Butt is a term I learned from my hero, the incomparable Allison Anholt. It describes the condition where an egg is so close to popping out, you can actually see the bulge in the bird. Lucky Allison once saw Tacey with Egg Butt.
What happened next was a beautiful moment I will never forget.
What happened next was a beautiful moment I will never forget.

Linda walked slowly over to the nest she and T2 had built, where they already had one well camouflaged egg. I knew something was up when she started making these beautiful, whisper quiet purring sounds. I dare not move. She was unaware of my presence and it would have been awful to disturb her. Besides, if this was what I thought it was, it would make for a very special picture, albeit one that is a gross invasion of AMOY privacy.

Soon her wings began to tremble as she slowly crouched and rose, crouched and rose. This went on for a good 20 minutes and it was clear I was witnessing something very special. It was a beautiful moment and the quiet stillness of the morning only made the presence of the miracle of Life on the Beach feel that much more profound.

I was captivated as the whole event drew to a climax and I knew it was imminent: the single egg nest would become a 2 egger right before my eyes. When suddenly…

“O hai Linda, wut r u doing? Duzn’t you see that Mr. Norfside fertografer over there?”
I don't know how he knew the exact moment, but he did. T2 totally photobombed the shot I had been lying in the cold sand for over an hour waiting for.
I don’t know how he knew the exact moment, but he did. T2 totally photobombed the shot I had been lying in the cold sand for over an hour waiting for. If you look closely between his legs (you can click any photo to enlarge it), you can see the moment the egg emerges. And then he took off as quickly as he had appeared.
But that's OK. As I watched Linda inspect her glistening, fresh egg next to the other, dustier one, I decided it was kind of a gross shot anyway. And it sure is classic T2. Classic.
But that’s OK. As I watched Linda inspect her gorgeous, glistening, fresh egg and felt myself thrilled that we had just doubled our chances of getting a little T3 this Summer, I decided it was kind of a gross shot anyway. And it sure is classic T2. Classic T2!