What The Heck Have You Raptors Have Been Up To While We’ve Been Away?

"Nuffing." Mr. Merlin looking pretty innocent for a bird-mangling monster.
“Nuffing.” Mr. Merlin looking pretty innocent for a bird-mangling monster.
"Iz just been looking at da birds Me. Norfiside... not eating them!" American Kestrel looks pretty innocent perched on LBI, but he has to be eating something.
“Iz just been looking at da burds Mr. Norfiside.” American Kestrel looks pretty innocent perched on LBI, but he has to be eating something. (First Kestrel I’ve ever found on the Beach. Never seen before on Readings From The Northside)
That's a good Northern Harrier. I'm not worried about you. You eat mice.
That’s a good Northern Harrier. I’m not worried about you. You eat mice.
The Hawk With The Owl Face
The Hawk With The Owl Face
"Iz just been baby sitting da burdz. They has been really naughty."
“Iz just been babysitting da burdz. They has been really naughty. Bad Burdz!”
Osprey says, "They takes all man purches to eat bird, Mr. Norfside!"
Osprey says, “They takes all mah purches to eat burd, Mr. Norfside!”
"No we duzn't. Shut up Osprey."
“No we duzn’t. Shut up Osprey.”
We see there, Mr. Merlin.
We see you there, Mr. Merlin. You’ve got nothing to hide, as long as you haven’t been eating Shorebirds.
I knew it. What's that in your talon, Mr. Peregrine?
I knew it. What’s that in your talon, Mr. Peregrine?
"Oh, hey. I has bad newz. Dis burd wuz hurt. I wuz helping it. But I accidentally swallowed some of it. Sry."
“Nom nom nom. Oh, hey. I has bad newz. Dis burd wuz hurt. I wuz… helping it. But I accidentally swallowed some of it. It dead now. Sry.”

So the Raptor-ture continues on LBI, with a diverse group of feisty and awesome little bird-mangling monsters terrorizing the Island. We can be cool with that, as long as they continue to respect the rules and eat only “regular” birds, leaving our beloved shorebirds alone.

Speaking of which, can you I.D. the bird being devoured by the Merlin in that last photo?