LBI’S SNOW BUNTING: Wait… What? Is That a… “Regular” Bird?

I don't know much about the adorable Arctic Snow Bunting except that it is one of the birds people are always looking for at the beach but never finding.
I don’t know much about the adorable Arctic Snow Bunting except that it is one of the birds people are always looking for at the beach but never finding.
I found this little borderline-regular-bird quite by accident
I found this little borderline-regular-bird quite by accident…
A few days back I had the good fortune to find the "lovely" bird-eating Northern Harrier at rest on the beach. But an evil mix of clouds, sundown, cold breeze, and total exposure prevented me from getting a good photo for you.
A few days back I had the good fortune to find the “lovely” bird-eating Northern Harrier at rest on the beach. But an evil mix of clouds, sundown, cold breeze, and total exposure prevented me from getting a good, useable photo for you.
But as our Marsh Hawk fled the scene of its bird eating crimes, I realized two little "regular" birds were sitting just inches from me, probably watching the hawk as intently I was. Unlikely allies, indeed.
As our Marsh Hawk fled the scene of its bird eating crimes, I realized two little “regular” birds were sitting just inches from me, probably watching the hawk as intently I was. Unlikely allies, indeed.
Today I returned to the spot to find one of my little friends waiting for me.
Today I returned to the spot to find one of my little friends waiting for me.
See? Iz not regular. I likes to hide in tire tracks and getz killed, just like Plover.
Seez? Iz not regular. Iz likez to hide in tire tracks and getz killed, just like Plover.
Well, we'll have to think about this. For now we'll grant a temporary RFTNS Shore Bird Designation to the Snow Bunting and request that all Peregrines & Harriers immediately refrain from eating them.
Well, we’ll have to think about this. For now we’ll grant a temporary RFTNS Shore Bird Designation to the Snow Bunting and request that all Peregrines & Harriers immediately refrain from eating them until this issue is resolved.