Some Bird Stories (May) Have Happy Endings

Iz thrivings!
nom nom nom… Iz thrivings! nom nom nom

It was a real thought provoker when long time Reader Jamie commented that he refused to get emotionally involved in the Piping Plover chick posts, as the chances of an unhappy ending were high. Indeed, he is correct, and bonding with these birds is a huge risk. Piping Plover are severely endangered for good reason: they tend not to survive.

But I'm happy to report that all 3 of the Northside's chicks, Puffy, Fluffy, and Tufters are doing great.
But I’m happy to report that all 3 of the Northside’s chicks, Puffy, Fluffy, and Tufters are doing great. (note: Puffy not shown)
Iz big boy!
Iz big boy!

Much of the credit for the roaring success is due to the Conserver Wildlife Foundation of NJ and the dedication of the beach nesting team headed up by the incomparable Todd Pover. Todd is a true hero, if only for actually answering my inane questions like “What is a Plover? If I find one, can I play with it in my room?” and what not.

Todd tells us that danger lurks moment to moment for these precious little ones and a predator event could take place like a lightening strike. But the Plover are summer-lovers and don’t agree that “September is the best month on LBI” and usually leave for the winter in mid August. That suggest the chicks should spread those wings soon and soon after, fly off to a pleasant winter Florida.

I thinkz I canz, I thinkz I canz, I thinkz I canz, I thinkz I canz...
I thinkz I canz, I thinkz I canz, I thinkz I canz, I thinkz I canz…

Having all three chicks fledge would be a huge statistical victory. So pay attention to beach nesting bird signs and warning wherever you are. We only have a few more weeks to go.

Don't stepz on me u Godzillaz
Don’t stepz on me u Godzillaz
I beeleevz I kan flyz... I beeleevz I kan touch da skyz.... iz think about it every nightz and dayz....
I beeleevz I kan flyz… I beeleevz I kan touch da skyz…. iz think about it every nightz and dayz….
Incidentally, Todd was kind of enough to correct me that this is PAPA, not MAMA. Mama has already left for Florida and dad is picking up the slack.
Incidentally, Todd was kind of enough to correct me that this is PAPA, not MAMA. Mama has already left for Florida and dad is picking up the slack.
Wish for a Happy Ending
Wish for a Happy Ending

Everyone loves  Happy Endings. The reality is that the Piping Plover are not going to survive without some Humanz Interventionz. We need to work to help restore the balance to the beach that will allow them to stage a comeback. They just need their fair share.

The Beach Nesting Bird Dept of the Conserve Wildlife Foundation of NJ is fundraising and needs your help: even just an itty bitty contribution helps the itty bitties!

More guilt trips from Readings From The Nothside: Please, please, please give something to the Beach Nesting Bird Project. Just $50 allows them to build the fences that have allowed Puffy, Fluffy, & Tufters to make it this far.

Click here to help!