Sometimes Amateur Avian Ambulatory Adventures End in Euthanasia

Help me.
Help me.

It was supposed to be just a quick walk to the jetty to see the gulls, but took a sad turn when we discovered this poor girl. Something was obviously very wrong. She was docile and calm and when I sat nearby to get a look she seemed to inch cautiously towards me, almost like she had been waiting for someone to stop and help her.

When I approached her with a towel to catch her, she simply looked back at me and sighed. I rushed her to the good folks at the Barnegat Animal Clinic who were willing to see her even though it was 5 PM on a Friday and the Doctors were just leaving for well deserved weekends.

Too far gone.
Too far gone.

Sadly, she was too far gone. Her jaw was severely broken and was not able to eat. They recommended taking away her pain immediatey, forever.

The kindness & patience shown by the good people at the Barnegat Animal Clinic never ceases to amaze me. Long time readers might remember when they saved one of our beloved CheezItz. It came as no surprise when we learned that Ben Wurst, the Osprey Hero, is part of the same Wurst family behind the clinic. This time I asked at the desk, if someone were to send a gift to the clinic, what would they like? Coffee, chocolate, and Pretzel Factory were all mentioned. If you have the time and you love people who do awesome things in this world, send some treats to the clinic.

On the difficult ride over the bridge she was brave as a bird could be so I named her Valor. Rest in peace sweetheart.

Valor, as we'll remember her.
Valor, as we’ll remember her.