How Do You End An Epic Osprey Hero Adventure? With A Light Phase Osprey Sighting, Of Course

Duz u see something special?
Duz sunthing lookz amiss?

It’s a thrilling moment when you’re watching birds and an instinct kicks in. In the back of your mind, something just does not seem right. Usually on LBI you think you’re looking at a gull… but if you have the slightest hunch that something looks amiss, GRAB THE CAMERA.

We had such a moment today when passing a large channel marker in the Bay on the very last leg of the journey. It looked like a simple scene: gull on thing. But we both did a double take, and sure enough…

Rude! Full Moon over the Bay if you know what I'm sayin'
Rude! Full Moon over the Bay if you know what I’m sayin’
That's no gull, that's a very special Osprey. Very special indeed.
That’s no gull, that’s a very special Osprey. Very special indeed.
Ben tells me this is a "Light Phase Osprey" and is a rare find.
Ben tells me this is a “Light Phase Osprey” and is a rare find.
I believed him because he said he "wanted to see those pictures"
I believed him because he said he “wanted to see those pictures”
I'm certain that is one cool looking Osprey.
I’m certain that is one cool looking Osprey.
Epic ending to an epic day.
Epic ending to an epic day.