Happy Finback Morning: Mega Whale Spotting Action off LBI Today

Enough to identify this massive beast as a Finback
Enough to identify this massive beast as a Finback

We are having what I might describe as a “Whale Event” this morning. Either the same Whale has been traveling around North Beach all morning, or I am seeing multiples. I believe it is the latter because I’ve seen them at varying distances. The Whale spotting conditions are perfect today so cast you eyes seaward, and look for groups of birds, fish leaping, and of course, blow! I’ve seen on full head breach and several blows, all too random to catch on film. But I was pleased when this extremely large Finback lollygagged long enough to catch a few shots.

Birds for scale. They are about to get the fright of their lives.
Birds for scale. They are about to get the fright of their lives.