Reading From The… Southside? Field Trip!

Nature Boy: You can find strange and wondrous creatures at Holgate
Nature Boy: You can find strange and wondrous creatures at Holgate

The last 48 hours have been brutal. Not only did someone accidentally flip the “Monday” switch yesterday, but they apparently threw the “End Of Summer” switch too. While we still have warm temps, a mess of poor weather extends as far as the eye can see. Oppressive and depressing. We hope for a little sun Thursday, but poor Southwest winds will prevent it from becoming that bright, dry, crisp September Sun we crave.

But nothing fills a gray day like a long beach walk and lucky for LBI, Holgate is open to foot traffic. Perfect time for a field trip. 2.5 miles of pure LBI. A chance to see the Island as it was, as it might be one day, perhaps, as it should be. I somehow managed the entire 5 mile round trip on foot. Highly recommended.

The Claming Tree. A curious and creative way to leave your mark at Hogate.
The Claming Tree. A curious and creative way to leave your mark at Hogate.
Man meets nature in the wild. Poor guy. I wish I could have done something. Seemed like he wanted me too.
Man meets nature in a less curious and creative way. Poor guy. I wish I could have done something. Seemed like he wanted me too.
Endless shellin' with months of debris just waiting to plucked. Found more seaglass on this one walk than I've found all summer.
Endless shellin’ with months of debris just waiting to plucked. Found more seaglass on this one walk than I’ve found all summer.
And more American Oystercatcher too
And more American Oystercatcher too
No CheezItz (TM) to be found here
No CheezItz (TM) to be found here
Tons of Ruddy-Buddies (Ruddy Turnstones)
Tons of Ruddy-Buddies (Ruddy Turnstones)
Least Sandpiper walks on the mirror
Least Sandpiper walks on the mirror
As does Sanderling
As does Sanderling
2.5 miles of unspoiled glory... just use your thumb to block out Atlantic City
2.5 miles of unspoiled glory… just use your thumb to block out Atlantic City
Huge Score: Adorable Piping Plover
Huge Score: Adorable Piping Plover
Also walks on the mirror
Also walks on the mirror
Even Huge-er Score: Black Bellied Plover
Even Huge-er Score: Black Bellied Plover
The End Of The World. Amazingly, I left my wide angle lens in the car, 2.5 miles away. Oh well.
The End Of The World. Amazingly, I left my wide angle lens in the car, 2.5 miles away. Oh well. Still, it’s a pic, so it did happen. An afternoon I’ll never forget.