Overdoing It With The Mac Daddy

QQQQWWWWWIIIIIIEEEEEEETTTTT! Mac Daddy needs a break, poor guy.
QQQQWWWWWIIIIIIEEEEEEETTTTT! Mac Daddy needs a break, poor guy.

Another spectacular late summer day. The wind turned Southeast as expected, but the surprise of the day was the swell. The waves were big, mushy, and fun for the bulk of the afternoon. This evening was probably the most beautiful beach sunset (watching the sunset light on the ocean) I’ve ever seen. I saw colors I still can’t describe. In fact, I could tell from my window that it was going to be so unbelievably spectacular I did something I never do: left the camera at home and just enjoyed the moment. Sorry suckers.

The wildlife scene was quiet, to “quite quiet”. But Mac Daddy, the oldest and most experienced herring gull in North Beach, provided all the entertainment as we watched him struggle through his antics and deal with his three little babies.

Awww, c'mon Mac Daddy, we see you raiding that camp.
Awww, c’mon Mac Daddy, we see you raiding that camp.
PLEASE. SHUT. UP. The little Doritos whining is a bit much, even for us.
PLEAZE. SHUT. UP. The little Doritos whining is a bit much, even for us.
Iz Mac Daddy! The oldezt and mozt experienzed!
Iz Mac Daddy! Iz the oldezt and mozt experienzed!
BACK OFF MY 'LIL CHEEZITZ! Mac Daddy has so much beach credibility he can even bark down even a Black Backed Gull, albeit a Juvenile.
BACK OFF MY ‘LIL CHEEZITZ! Mac Daddy has so much beach credibility he can even bark down even a Black Backed Gull, albeit a Juvenile.
Not sure what's going on here. God Bless You, Mac Daddy.
Not sure what’s going on here. God Bless You, Mac Daddy.
Can you find Mac Daddy? Mac Daddy was up to his usual camp raiding antics.
Can you find Mac Daddy? Mac Daddy was up to his usual camp raiding antics.
But what's this? Mac Daddy is actually earning an honest living too. I suppose it's the pressure of feeding his 3 little Doritos.
But what’s this? Mac Daddy is actually earning an honest living too. I suppose it’s the pressure of feeding his 3 little Doritos.
I suppose in a way I can relate, Mac Daddy. I have to go out each day too, and hunt a little, and con a little, and come home to puke it up for my family, keeping a little for myself, and heading back out to do it all over again.
I suppose in a way I can relate, Mac Daddy. I have to go out each day too, and hunt a little, and con a little, and come home to puke it up for my family, keeping a little for myself, then heading back out to do it all over again.
But we put Mac Daddy in his rightful place by building him a new Castle today.
But we put Mac Daddy in his rightful place, as “King Of The Wurld”, by building him a new Castle today.
Bonus Detail: Mac Daddy actually used the ramp we built for him to climb his perch.
Bonus Detail: Mac Daddy actually used the ramp we built for him to climb his perch.
Bonus Shot: "Awwww, Iz going to need a bigger boat"
Bonus Shot: “Awwww, Iz going to need a bigger boat”