A Day Where Dreams Came True

My ankles are stinging
My ankles are stinging

Today went better than imagined, at least by the Readings. The waves were just a little more fun, the wind just a little less annoying, the humidity significantly less draining than the forecast suggested. Although the sea was a mix of slop and chop, there were some fun rides for anyone willing to fight the currents. The water continues the trend of extreme murkiness, and there were cold patches of upwelled water in the deep surf. I’m not sure what this is doing to our Aquarium, but we’ll see. What was disturbing was the “Nacho Cheese” someone added to the water, probably to help flavor the fish. There was a strange orange-ish slick on the surface which remained in the break for most of the tide change. It smelled natural but I’d wash well tonight anyway. To cap it all off we have a small, weak thunderstorm rolling through which may help push the reset button on the weather patterns and perhaps launch us into a new era of unknown adventures.

To break from the wind, I went to a secret place. It was something called the “Bae”? Perhaps the “Bay”? It was a magical place. Some readers may not be aware that 99% of the photos on Readings From The Northside are taken from a single beach on LBI. While most of you will probably say “Well, that explains why I’m so bored”, a few may share my view that there is a whole new adventure, every day on your beach. You don’t need to go anywhere, you just need to keep tuning in more to the canvas of sea, sand, and sky to discover it is endlessly new and interesting  in every moment.

Here are a few photos from a rare field trip away from the beach.

The wind is different in the strange world of "The Bay"
The wind is different in the strange world of “The Bay”
I love this Island as much as anything on this earth
I love this Island as much as anything on this earth
Will some Bay person PLEASE tell me what he is eating? I have never seen a laughing gull eat anything other than Pretzels.
Will some Bay person PLEASE tell me what he is eating? I have never seen a laughing gull eat anything other than Pretzels.